More Than Death

I am honestly not at expert to this, but teenagers nowadays are overwhelmed by the emotions they’re feeling. And I’m one of them. I couldn’t blame people who will try to cut themselves because they were hurt emotionally; or just angry at themselves. Before, I got into a world of suicidal thoughts. I didn’t cut myself, but I had plans. I broke things and threw pillows while stuck in the room alone. I had to fight the battle I was facing. An unfamiliar voice was saying, “Go, get something to hurt yourself.” But God was telling me, “No, this life is more than you’re experiencing.

I definitely did not continue what the flesh was actually dictating me to do. But I want to help you to get out of that dying world (if you are), so here are just my own tips to overcome them:

  1. Don’t be afraid to ask help –parents, friends, and godly counsel. Call or messaging them will do.
  2. Release your emotions. It’s okay to shout or cry.
  3. Go out of your room.
  4. Feed yourself with your favorite food. (I prefer you to eat ice cream)
  5. Listen to happy songs.
  6. Think about the people who love you.
  7. Read the letters you received from close friends.
  8. Inhale. Exhale.
  9. Distract yourself. (Read books, watch movies, go to the mall)
  10. Pray.

Probably, these are the least things you could do to help yourself and get away from suicide. You are loved, and nothing could ever change that. Emotions may overwhelm you, but don’t let it define you. When we allow our emotions dictate our actions, we allow the enemy to control us. However, we won’t totally be fine immediately. But we will, if we allow ourselves drown in the fullness of God’s love and grace.

There are times when we won’t understand ourselves anymore, or even the situation, but hold on to the Rope that is holding you through. More than the close family members or friends you have, God is the top one person who understands you. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Forgive, and let go. If life moves on, so you should be. There will be moments when we will fail, but remind yourself that it’s okay to fall sometimes, yet remember that it’s an opportunity for you to start again. Don’t let failures of life ordain your future. Instead, think of steps to a better you. There will be days when we’d feel broken, but remind yourself that God is Love and He is the only One who can make you whole again.

When you feel like giving up, or on Him, take yourself back to the day where you’ve realized that life is worth living. Think about how you started. Think about the people you’ve inspired. Think about your family who loves you in spite your flaws. Think about the most memorable moment of your life. Think about your achievements.

You are more than just killing yourself. WE ARE MORE THAN DEATH. We are soldiers; we may get wounded from time to time, but isn’t that part of a soldier’s training? To get hurt? Remember that a true soldier gets injured. If they didn’t, it’s just because they hid; they didn’t cross swords.

Train yourself. It’s okay to get hurt (not by the sharp things we physically see). It’s really fine. We all do. A true warrior doesn’t just fight in the battlefield; they also know how to rest. Recharge your battery. Send yourself to read the Bible and pray. Maybe, we’ve been so busy that we’ve lacked time for God that results to defeated responses to our own challenges. It’s time to go back to Him, dear.

Galatians 2:20

 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

Declare that verse, everyday.

–Rinnah Ramirez

Leave a Reply

